top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiskiyatul Mauludiyah

22nd day : The Obligation of a Moeslim

Today is Moeslims special day throughout the world. The name is eid adha. Ajarn Wanwi has found a mosque for us to do Eid adha prayer. In Indonesia, Eid adha prayer usually starts around 7 am. We thought that praying here would not be much different from Indonesia so we had left from 6 am. Arriving there turned out that people had not arrived. We are too early. There we were warmly welcomed by the mosque guard. They are preparing a place for today's celebration. The prayer will start around 8 am. So, we have to wait two hours. While waiting, the mosque guard asked for our help to teach how to Eid adha prayer to a who had just being Moeslim. The woman is native to Thailand and has a Turkish husband who is Moeslim. We teach it slowly and she follows us well. She is very cheerful and friendly. Although a little confused, her face always smiled.



This is the first time I have taught about how to pray to a Moeslim because all this time I live in an area that is the average person who has embraced Islam from birth. God is very kind with me for giving me this experience. God wants me to learn, that not always the conditions in my life are the same. There are times when I have to feel a minority in an area, feel when almost everyone is different from me, feel the difficulty when I want to worship, and feel life without my family. Even though in Indonesia, I thought that it would be difficult to survive in Thailand but I always applied the principle that had been uttered by Ustad in one of my videos. He said "God gives us food and family in Indonesia. Ofcourse, God in Indonesia and abroad is same, then we don't need to be afraid not to get food and family when  abroad "and I always believe in Allah SWT. Finally the prayer began.



After the prayer, there was a lecture but in Thai. Yes, even though I didn't understand, I was sure that the lecture must be about goodness. After that, there was a celebration which was attended by all the Eid adha prayers. Starting from the performance from some old people,



eating sacrificial meat together,



distributing door prizes,



and distributing sacrificial meat.



After the celebration we went home by walking around 3.5 km and then taking public transportation.



We returned to the office at school to take a break. I and Alfia couldn't go straight back to the room because our roommate hadn't gone home yet. While there I did not feel like in Thailand because they often play songs from Indonesia and Arabic songs that sung by Indonesian singers. Look at the results of my trust, I have never been disappointed with Allah, my God. I was given a way to worship. However, all I got was not only by believing but also by prayer, effort, hard work, always worshiping and doing kindness.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page