top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiskiyatul Mauludiyah

23rd day : This is us, Indonesia

As scheduled, today we show Indonesian traditional dress and one of Indonesian traditional dances. I and alfia will dance. We performed in front of students who were taking part in a competition. Before that, we made preparations in our office or we mentioned base camp. Our preparation takes about 2 hours.



Our preformance takes about 7 minutes. The dance name is “Sekapur Sirih”. The dance is a traditional dance from Jambi that is usually offered when welcoming important guests. I was very nervous when I saw the number of people who would see me dance because I had not performed a dance in public for a long time. Well, I was a dancer. Luckily all went well, they even clapped their hands when the closing song played. I and alfia use typical Malay clothes, Diana uses typical Toraja clothes and Suryani wear typical Javanese clothes.



After the performance, we returned to the room to change clothes and remove makeup. After that, we eat and go home respectively. I am very tired. Even so, I'm very happy because they enjoyed our appearance. I like to introduce Indonesia to them. I feel proud to be able to introduce Indonesian culture to people in Thailand. But I'm not satisfied if I only introduce one country, even though other countries already know Indonesia, but I want to introduce them directly to them in my own way. I want to show how beautiful my country has been defended with great difficulty by past heroes. When they are here, they will think they will see a bit of the face of Indonesia and Islam in me, so I try to always show positive things to maintain the good name of Indonesia and Islam. If there are bad thoughts about Indonesia that make them dislike Indonesia, I hope to change it for the better with my attitude and presence here. Of course, every country has its own ugliness, but what is wrong is that I want to make them think that not only the outside country has ugliness but also its own country and it never wrong to think that every country in the world has its own beauty that we should praise.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page